More Specific?

be-specific

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5BrCob1WIWWS2xlb2NQbmpiSms/view

When it comes to writing, there are many details. Today, we’ll be focusing on being specific. Being specific is extremely important because according to Beth Johnson, specificity allows for adding detail. When a piece of literature isn’t specific, it lacks detail and is boring for the readers. Adding specific details allows the reader to get a better understanding and image. Based on my experience, I can confirm this because my writing has been specific for the last two years. According to my essay grades, I’ve seen a 40% improvement. For example, my plain essay freshmen year only received a C+. Now, in junior year, my essays have been receiving an average grade of an A. This is because of the extra added details. When comparing the passages “I ate lunch,” and “I ate a ham sandwich for the afternoon” you can obviously tell that the second one gives a much more clearer image.

Leave a Reply

